Arrested for a DUI?  You are not alone.  According to the Department of Justice, in 2010, over 1.4 million drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics.  What most people do not realize is that it takes only one or two drinks to put your blood alcohol level over the legal limit. This is why you need a skilled legal representative on your side.

The State of Florida treats driving under the influence (DUIs) very seriously. If you have been pulled over and blew over 0.08% or refused to provide breath, urine, or blood, you could be facing extremely harsh penalties, including jail time.


Day 1: You find yourself under arrest for a DUI. The police officer took your license and gave you a ticket. This ticket serves as your business purpose license for ten days (if you qualify).

Day 2-8: You must make sure your license is otherwise valid and that you qualify for a hardship, then you must decide if you want a formal review, informal review, or if you would like to apply for a hardship waiver permit.

If you do nothing at all….

Day 9: At midnight your license will be suspended for a minimum of 6 months.

In a DUI case, the first ten days are the most important when it comes to your driving privileges. If you do nothing at all, your license will be suspended in ten days for a minimum of 6 months.

First DUI penalties may inlcude:

  • An adjudication of guilt (conviction on your record)
  • Jail time ranging from 8 hours to 270 days
  • Probation for up to one year
  • $500 to $2000 in fines plus Court Costs
  • 50 Community Service Hours
  • DUI school
    • Alcohol or drug treatment is possible
  • Vehicle impoundment for at least 10 days (not counted during your incarceration)
  • Driver’s license revoked from 6 months to permanent revocation
  • Ignition interlock device

Penalties can increase if:

  • Your breath, blood, or urine sample is over .15 or positive for drugs
  • You have a minor in the car
  • You are involved in an accident
  • You left the scene of an accident
  • Your license is suspended
  • You injured another
  • You caused property damage

If you are arrested for DUI in Miami-Dade County the following may apply:

  • Back on Track
  • Donation to the Ryder Trauma Center
  • Victim Impact Panel
  • (online course)

The legal limit for DUIs in Florida is 0.08%. If you have a CDL, the legal limit is 0.04%. If you are under 21, the legal limit is even lower at 0.02%.

After the first DUI conviction, the penalties only get more rigid.

If you have been accused of driving under the influence (DUI), it is essential that you get help with your case immediately. Carin A. Levine will contest the DUI and fight on your behalf.

Call Carin A. Levine, the President of CarinAtLaw, P.A., today to set up a free consultation, (305) 496-9588.